A List of Nigerian States, their Capitals and Slogans


This table provides a snapshot of Nigerian states, their capitals, and slogans which reflect everything about the states and Nigeria as a federation — from historical significance to natural beauty, cultural heritage, and economic vitality.

1AbiaUmuahia“God’s Own State”
2AdamawaYola“Land of Beauty, Sunshine, and Hospitality”
3Akwa IbomUyo“Land of Promise”
4AnambraAwka“Light of the Nation”
5BauchiBauchi“Pearl of Tourism”
6BayelsaYenagoa“Glory of All Lands”
7BenueMakurdi“Food Basket of the Nation”
8BornoMaiduguri“Home of Peace”
9Cross RiverCalabar“The People’s Paradise”
10DeltaAsaba“The Big Heart”
11EbonyiAbakaliki“Salt of the Nation”
12EdoBenin City“Heartbeat of the Nation”
13EkitiAdo-Ekiti“Land of Honour and Integrity”
14EnuguEnugu“Coal City State”
15GombeGombe“Jewel in the Savannah”
16ImoOwerri“Eastern Heartland”
17JigawaDutse“The New World”
18KadunaKaduna“Centre of Learning”
19KanoKano“Centre of Commerce”
20KatsinaKatsina“Home of Hospitality”
21KebbiBirnin Kebbi“Land of Equity”
22KogiLokoja“The Confluence State”
23KwaraIlorin“State of Harmony”
24LagosIkeja“Centre of Excellence”
25NasarawaLafia“Home of Solid Minerals”
26NigerMinna“The Power State”
27OgunAbeokuta“Gateway State”
28OndoAkure“Sunshine State”
29OsunOsogbo“Land of Virtue”
30OyoIbadan“Pace Setter State”
31PlateauJos“Home of Peace and Tourism”
32RiversPort Harcourt“Treasure Base of the Nation”
33SokotoSokoto“Seat of the Caliphate”
34TarabaJalingo“Nature’s Gift to the Nation”
35YobeDamaturu“Pride of the Sahel”
36ZamfaraGusau“Farming is Our Pride”
37FCT (Abuja)Abuja“Centre of Unity”

Please note that “FCT (Abuja)” refers to the Federal Capital Territory.

See also  “Day Names” of Ashanti Children


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.